murray global blog

08/11/2010

Finish Line

Filed under: Murray Personal, Places, Runnning and Fitness — murrayglobal @ 10:53 am

What a day for a marathon!

Woke up at 3am (still on Africa time), to make my 5:45am appointed travel on the Staten Island ferry. Had time for a quick bite to eat, kissed wifey good-bye and hit the NYC subway. Temp was a bone cold (for me) 38f, with winds in the 10 – 15mph range, out of the north.

After a 90 minute commute to the starting spot on Staten Island, it’s sit around and wait for the 9:45am start. That’s a long time to sit around, especially with the cool temps and wind. Luckily, I found a spot inside one of the tents. I sat there and zoned out waiting to get called to the starting corals.

Pre-race grumpy - and freezing my butt off!

Pre-race holding tent - able to hold about 20% of the runners

The race starts with a 2 mile climb over the Verrazano Bridge into Brooklyn. Beautiful views of the New York harbor, if you bother to look and enjoy. The wind was whistling up there pretty strong – it was cold! The rest of the race takes you through the 5 boroughs of New York. From the New York Road Runners website:

The first New York City Marathon, in 1970, was four-plus laps of Central Park. In 1976, in celebration of the U.S. bicentennial, NYRR moved the marathon to the streets of New York’s five boroughs: Staten Island, Brooklyn, Queens, the Bronx, and Manhattan. The course united dozens of culturally and ethnically diverse neighborhoods, crossed five bridges, and finished at Tavern on the Green in world-famous Central Park. The course continues to challenge thousands of athletes every year and has become a model for big-city marathon courses around the world.

It’s a great way to see NYC. The crowds are awesome the whole way. You get to the Bronx about mile 20. Many are tempted to stop, but when they see the crowd of locals cheering them on, they keep going, From the Bronx you head over to Harlem. Nicely gentrifying. Wish I would’ve bought property there in the 1980’s. Once you clear Harlem, is a tough slug down the east side of Central Park. By this time, the race is at the trudging stage, but the crowds won’t let you stop. Wall-to-wall cheering, 5 people deep it is awesome.

Eventually you tuck into Central Park, running to the southern end before making a U-turn and heading north for about a 1/2 mile for the finish line.

I ended up running a bit slower than I wanted / expected. The first half of the run I concentrated on keeping my HR below 150, letting things pick up till I got to mile 22, then see if I had any fire left for the finish. My thinking was that by doing this, I would save myself from the dread BONK that occurs to me in the last 4 miles (massive cramps).

Plan worked well, except I had no fire left for the finish. So I resigned my self to just keep a steady, albeit slow, pace to the finish. I never stopped (except for water stations), never cramped (Hurrah!) and generally felt good the whole way. Suspect that the travel and strange diet over the last couple days doesn’t help things.

I also think the course is not so easy. Several fairly serious long rises. And a steady amount of long rolling ups and down. Don’t you believe that NYC is flat as a pancake. I don’t think the course is as tough as Boston, but it’s certainly more difficult than TC Bayshore.

Place Gender
Place
Age
Place
Runner
No.
First Name Last Name Age Team State/
Country
Finish
Time
5 km 10 km 15 km 20 km 13.1 mi 25 km 30 km 35 km 40 km Minutes
per Mile
19474 14828 559 21375 JOHN MURRAY 55M NGR 04:13:32 00:27:38 00:55:43 01:24:45 01:53:59 02:00:30 02:24:20 02:54:39 03:26:40 03:59:21 09:41

My Nigerian running babe Uche had a great day. She qualified for Boston. I’m going to need to train with her if I expect to pick up my times!

 

Nigerian Running Star - Uche

 

Place Gender
Place
Age
Place
Runner
No.
First Name Last Name Age Team State/
Country
Finish
Time
5 km 10 km 15 km 20 km 13.1 mi 25 km 30 km 35 km 40 km Minutes
per Mile
6549 963 233 20110 UCHE ORIZU 32F TX NGR 03:36:46 00:24:45 00:48:38 01:12:40 01:37:05 01:42:32 02:02:42 02:27:57 02:55:33 03:24:09 08:17

I felt pretty decent after the race. Wifey met me at Columbus Circle, where we took a bike taxi back to the hotel. Hot bath and a quick nap and I was ready to roll into the evening.

We had dinner with Aboucar and Sylvi, from the Ivory Coast. Abou is  an IT colleague I met through work. He works in Abidjan for one of our sister companies. Dual national, his family lives in NJ and he commutes back and forth. Sort of like me. We went to a nice Malaysian restaurant in China town. Pigged out – then went back to the hotel and conked out!

 

Abou and Sylvi - friends from Cote d'Ivoire

 

 

 

4 Comments »

  1. Murray,

    Congratulations on completing a difficult race under very difficult travel requirements. It does my heart good to see old geezers (like myself) able to still compete in events such as this one.

    So now back on a plane and back to work!!

    GRS

    Comment by Scroggs — 08/11/2010 @ 3:05 pm

    • Thanks for the kind comments re: Old Geezers….gonna stay in Noo Yawk for a couple more days and play with wifey.

      Comment by murrayglobal — 09/11/2010 @ 11:34 am

  2. Way to go Murray, I can’t believe your time…I think it is great! Awesome

    Comment by Tim Kaiser — 08/11/2010 @ 9:51 pm

    • Hey Kaiser – I was a bit disappointed with the time, but considering the travel hassles, the toughness of the course – and my tender age, I’m not gonna complain!

      Comment by murrayglobal — 09/11/2010 @ 11:35 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.